FPRA Capital Chapter Announces Winners of the 2024 Excellence in Communications Awards

The Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA) Capital Chapter recently hosted the 2024 Excellence in Communications Awards, a prestigious ceremony that recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of public relations and communications in the Tallahassee area. This year’s event at the Challenger Learning Center in downtown Tallahassee spotlighted the diverse talents and significant accomplishments of professionals and rising stars in the Capital City’s communications industry.

The 2024 winners are:

  • Communicator of the Year: Andy Janecek, Leon County Property Appraiser’s Office
  • Allied Industry Partner of the Year: Jeremy Cohen, Target Print & Mail
  • Solo Practitioner Star: Michelle Bono, APR, CPRC, Bono Communications & Marketing
  • Public Sector Professional Award: Mathieu Cavell, Leon County Government
  • Excellence in Nonprofit Communications: Claudia Machado, Mothers Against Drunk Driving Florida & Puerto Rico
  • Team’s Tribute: Miron Richardson, Vystar Credit Union
  • Creative Professional of the Year: Tim Wheeler, TREW Media
  • Rising Star: Emily McCarthy, Sachs Media Group
  • Intern of the Year: Leah Solomon, Sachs Media Group
  • FPRA Capital Chapter Student Scholarship: Jarvis Coleman, Florida A&M University

The selection process involved a rigorous evaluation of nominations by a panel of judges, ensuring that the awardees demonstrated exceptional skill, creativity and dedication in their respective categories.

“This year we had a unique opportunity to establish our own local awards program,” said Carla Brown Lucas, president of the FPRA Capital Chapter. “After thinking creatively as a board, we developed award categories that celebrate the diverse individuals who are a part of the area’s public relations and communications industries along with their incredible work and contributions to our profession.”

From left to right: Leah Solomon, Michelle Bono, Claudia Machado, Emily McCarthy, Mathieu Cavell, Tim Wheeler, Andy Janecek, Jeremy Cohen, and Miron Richardson