CapChap Holiday Community Service Project

The Capital Chapter is excited to announce that we will spread holiday cheer this year to some local veterans through our holiday community service project. Members are invited to support residents of the Tallahassee Veterans’ Village by bringing donated household items to the November 21st meeting and/or the December Social. The Veterans’ Village is a two-year transitional […]

What’s Professional: How to Deal with Difficult Reporters

For a public relations professional, the key to developing good relationships with members of the media is maintaining professionalism and expecting the same in return. Unfortunately, as deadlines get shorter and newsrooms shrink, sometimes professionalism is de-prioritized. A hard-hitting interview or negative coverage may leave you feeling like a victim – a little unsure about […]

Onward Scholarship Competition

Taproot Creative and the Capital Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association are looking for students with strong writing skills and the ability to apply critical analysis to public relations scenarios. The student with the best written response will receive $1,000 and the opportunity to interview for a spring internship at Taproot Creative. Writing prompt: In no fewer than 5,000 words, […]

FPRA Capital Chapter Celebrates Past, Present and Future

Today, the Capital Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA) officially installed its 2013-2014 Officers and Board of Directors. The installation ceremony took place at the FSU Alumni Center and highlighted the association’s tradition of excellence in leadership with a special presentation including past presidents. Incoming 2013-2014 Capital Chapter Officers and Directors: President: Sandi […]

Deadline for ER for PR Applications Extended

Call for Applications The Capital Chapter would like to invite local organizations to submit an application to participate in the morning portion of ER for PR, including one-on-one counseling sessions with PR experts. Attendees will receive an “Emergency Kit” that includes tips from the experts and how to write a press release, a chance to […]

2013 Golden Image Awards Winners

2013 Golden Image Awards Winners

Congratulations to all of this year’s Golden Image Award winners, including the Florida Division of Veterans’ Affairs and Sachs Media Group, recipients of the 2013 Dick Pope All Florida Golden Image Award for the Honoring Those Who Served U.S. Campaign. Capital Chapter 2013 Golden Image Awards Winners Division A – Public Relations Programs Dick Pope […]

Call for ER for PR Applications, Medics

The Capital Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association is hosting ER for PR, its annual community event presented by Taproot Creative. This event is a full-day public relations/marketing-focused workshop designed to help Tallahassee businesses and nonprofits. The event will be Tuesday, Aug. 27  from 9:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m. at the Florida Sheriffs Association Training Center, located at […]

Scholarships Available for Annual Conference – Appy Today!

I am getting very excited for my favorite summer event, the FPRA Annual Conference! It was at conference several years ago when I first became passionate about this organization and decided to become more involved on a local level. An important initiative for me this year was to be able to fund a conference scholarship. […]

Capital Chapter Meets the Press

The June FPRA luncheon was one of the best of the year because it covered a topic every PR professional must deal with and understand – the media. This year’s Meet the Press panel included five local media representatives: Stan Sanders, news director, WCTV; Tom Urban, assignment editor, News Service of Florida; Rebeccah Lutz, managing […]

2013-2014 Proposed Slate of Officers and Directors

The 2013 Nominating Committee is pleased to present the proposed slate for the upcoming Chapter year. The membership will vote on the slate at the July 18th meeting. President: Sandi Poreda, APR President-elect: Jan Dobson, CAE Immediate Past President: Erica Villanueva, APR Treasurer: Steve Murray Secretary: Christina Johnson Director of Programming:  Karen Kirksey Director of Membership: […]