Zoe Linafelt Installed as President of Capital Chapter of Florida Public Relations Association

TALLAHASSEE – Zoe Linafelt was installed as President of the Capital Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA) at the 82nd FPRA Annual Conference earlier this month. Her term will begin September 1, 2021 and conclude August 31, 2022.

FPRA is a statewide organization of more than 1,000 public relations professionals dedicated to advancing the profession of PR and enhancing the professional development of its members. The Capital Chapter serves the Tallahassee region and boasts more than 100 members representing nearly every industry in the area, including government, nonprofit, education, health care, legal, corporate, retail, associations, agencies and small businesses.

Linafelt is the Communications Director for The Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida, a nonprofit that identifies, funds, supports and tests innovative programs to improve the life outcomes of children, preserve and strengthen families, and promote healthy behavior and functioning in society, recognizing that the wisest money spent is on prevention.

“The Capital City is fortunate to have such a dedicated group of public relations professionals who drive communications efforts for their organizations,” Linafelt said. “It is an honor to lead the Capital Chapter through these unique times when effective communication is more important than ever. My FPRA family has supported me and given me countless opportunities to learn and grow over the past decade. I’m excited to serve the chapter alongside my colleagues on the Board this year.”

“Zoe brings seasoned communications judgment, enthusiasm and compassion to our organization every day,” said Douglas Sessions Jr., President and CEO of The Ounce of Prevention Fund of Florida. “I know the Capital Chapter will benefit from her leadership.”

Devon Chestnut, APR, CPRC, President of the Florida Public Relations Association, said, “My theme for the 2021-2022 year is ‘Greater Than.’ Under Zoe’s leadership, I know the Capital Chapter will be greater than ever. I look forward to seeing the positive impact the Capital Chapter makes on the community and profession with Zoe at the helm.”

About the Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA)

The oldest public relations association in the nation, FPRA was founded in 1938. It has grown to include more than 1,000 professional and student members in the state representing a wide variety of industries. FPRA’s continuing mission is to develop public relations practitioners who, through ethical and standardized practices, enhance the profession in Florida. For information about the statewide association, visit fpra.org. To learn about the Capital Chapter of FPRA, visit fpra-capital.org.

2021-2022 Officers and Directors

Zoe Linafelt, President
Drew Piers, APR, Immediate Past President
Holly Brooks, President-Elect
Nipa Eason, Treasurer
Lauren Helm, APR, Secretary
Kelly Corder, APR, Director of Accreditation
Valencia Scott, Director of Awards and Recognition
Vanessa Vidacs, Director of Communications
Scott Schroeder, APR, CPRC, Director of Membership
Carla Brown Lucas, Director of Programming
Nanette Mathey-Schimpf, APR, CPRC, Director of Student Relations